Our Staff

Leigh Heffernan, Director

Leigh Heffernan was appointed Director in 2017. Leigh is a graduate of Hobart William Smith with a degree in both Education and Childhood Psychology. She has been teaching 2-year olds for 18 years in various local schools. Leigh is a past Board president, the mother of three Community alumni, and a lifelong Wilton resident who also helped establish our thriving 2's program seven  years ago.

Eleanor Arnold

Eleanor Arnold graduated from Vanderbilt and went on to Columbia in a not-for-profit executives program. Early in her professional life, she worked in development at an inter city K-8 school in Bedford, Stuyvesant. All three of her children attended Community. Eleanor was a past president of the school and chaired many roles over the years such as nominating, enrollment committees, and the endowment fund. This is Eleanor's fifth year in the Threes.

Kristen Burke

Kristen Burke, 2's Head Teacher, is a past Community parent and a long-time substitute and June School teacher. She joined Leigh Heffernan as an assistant 2s teacher in 2015. 

Megan Scullin-Zaca

Megan Scullin-Zaca joined CNSW as head Fours teacher in 2016. Her qualifications include Bachelor’s and Associate’s Degrees in Early Childhood Education and a Head Teacher Certification with State of Connecticut.  She has been teaching preschool for more than ten years and loves being part of Community!

Amy Gubner

Amy Gubner is our assistant 4s teacher. Her two sons graduated from CNSW in 2018 and 2016. She was a room mom and served on the board while her children were enrolled, became a sub, and then taught in the twos for a bit last year with Mrs. Burke. This year she’s excited to help Miss S get the big kids ready for kindergarten. She loves watching the 4s play more and more with each other as they start to become independent little people!